

To: Governing Board

San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority

Fr: Kenneth Moy

Legal Counsel, ABAG

Dt: January 16, 2013

Re: Governing Board – West Bay Seat

The San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority (SFBRA) was created pursuant to Government Code (GC) Section 66700, et seq. Under GC Section 66703, the Governing Board of SFBRA is comprised of seven individuals, six of whom are to be elected officials from jurisdictions and local entities as defined in that section. One of the seats is reserved for an elected official from cities and counties in the West Bay [defined as the area between the City and County of San Francisco (San Francisco) and the northern boundary of the City of Redwood City]. The Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) appoints the members of the Governing Board.

In April 2009, the elected Tax Assessor for San Francisco, Phil Ting was appointed to a four year term on the Governing Board representing the West Bay. In November 2012, Ting was elected to the State Assembly and subsequently vacated his position as Tax Assessor, making him ineligible to serve on the Governing Board.

The President of ABAG has nominated Supervisor David Pine of the County of San Mateo Board of Supervisors representing District 1. As required by SFBRA's enabling statute, Supervisor Pine's District includes areas that abut the San Francisco Bay. The appointment is to complete the balance of the initial four year term and for an additional four year term that ends in April 2017. Pending ratification of the nomination by ABAG's Executive Board, a letter will be sent from ABAG to the Chair of the Governing Board affirming all of the foregoing.