

San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority Independent Citizens Oversight Committee

SUMMARY MINUTES

March 7, 2022, 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm

Teleconference
Agenda and attachments available at:
www.sfbayrestore.org

1. Call to Order

Paul Jones, Chair of the Independent Citizens Oversight Committee (OC), led the meeting.

2. Determination of Quorum

Oversight Committee Member Attendees: Don Arnold, Nancy Cave, Jim Fiedler, Paul Jones, Doug Wallace, and Dr. Terry Young.

Laura Hollander, Clerk of the Oversight Committee, determined there was a quorum.

3. Public Comment

There were no public comments.

4. Introductions and Announcements

Committee Members introduced themselves, then Karen McDowell, SFBRA Deputy Program Manager, announced changes in SFBRA staffing:

- Sam Schuchat retired as Executive Officer of SFBRA/SCC, Brian Mayhew retired as MTC CFO and Treasurer of SFBRA, and Brenda Buxton retired as a SCC/SFBRA Deputy Program Manager & long-time manager of South Bay restoration projects
- Amy Hutzel, SFBRA/SCC Executive Officer
- Derek Hansel, MTC CFO and Treasurer of SFBRA (will start later in March)
- Josh Purtle, SFBRA/SCC Legal Counsel
- Evyan Sloan, SCC Deputy Program Manager for the Bay Program & project management duties for the BRRIT (previously Amy Hutzel) and for the South San Francisco Bay Shoreline Project (previously Brenda Buxton).
- Laura Hollander, the current SCC/SFBRA Sea Grant Fellow will end her fellowship at the end of March and new fellow Catie Thow and will serve as clerk for the next two OC meetings.

SFBRA staff in attendance introduced themselves: Jessica Davenport (Deputy Program Manager), Amy Hutzel (SFBRA/SCC Executive Officer), Josh Purtle (SFBRA/SCC Legal Counsel), Taylor Samuelson (Public Information Officer), Evyan Borgnis Sloane (project manager for BRRIT and South SF Bay Shoreline Project), Laura Hollander (outgoing SFBRA/SCC SeaGrant fellow and clerk of the OC), and Catie Thow (new SCC/SFBRA SeaGrant fellow and future clerk of the OC).

5. Approval of Oversight Committee Meeting Minutes of May 27, 2021

Jim Fiedler motioned to approve the minutes and Dr. Terry Young seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

6. Oversight Committee Operations

A. General Information

Karen gave an update on the status of remote vs. in-person meetings. She explained that the April meeting will likely be remote, but that won't be confirmed until the special Board Meeting on March 28th. Karen then explained the new stipend policy. Karen reminded the OC that their role is to annually review the Authority's conformance with Measure AA, review the Authority's audits and expenditure and financial reports, and publish an annual report of its findings. This role is separate from that of the advisory committee. The focus of the OC's report should be on the FY20/21.

B. Selection of Chair and Vice Chair

Dr. Terry Young nominated Paul Jones to continue as Chair of the OC. Nancy Cave seconded. Nancy Cave nominated Dr. Terry Young for Vice Chair, and Jim Fiedler seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

C. Formation of Ad Hoc Subcommittee

Jim Fiedler moved the motion to create a three-member ad hoc subcommittee and Doug Wallace seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The ad hoc subcommittee would be made up of the chair, vice chair, and a third member. Don Arnold volunteered as the 3rd member of the ad hoc subcommittee. Nancy Cave moved the motion and Jim Fiedler seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

7. Review Annual Report, Financial Report & Audit, Staff Work Plan, and Program Budget

Taylor Samuelson, Public Information Officer, and Karen McDowell presented on the annual report and asked if any members of the OC had questions on the other financial documents.

8. Grant Round Five Overview

Jessica Davenport reviewed the project selection process along with the recommended projects for Round 5, including project prioritization and consideration of long-term benefits like resilience to sea level rise.

9. Bay Restoration Regulatory Integration Team (BRRIT) Update

Amy Hutzel, Executive Officer of SFBRA, and Sahrye Cohen, Wetland Section Manager of USEPA Region 9, presented an update on the BRRIT, and answered questions during discussion.

10. Discussion of Report and Potential Recommendations

Paul Jones briefly reviewed the 2019/2020 report and areas of focus and led the discussion on potential areas of focus and recommendations for the 2020/2021 report. The ideas discussed will be drafted up by the ad hoc subcommittee and reviewed at the next meeting.

11. Oversight Committee Meeting Schedule and Next Steps

The next meeting will be held April 18th to review and comment on the draft report. The following meeting will be held May 23rd to finalize the report. The ad hoc subcommittee will work on the report and recommendations between meetings, and a draft will be posted approximately one week prior to the April meeting for the rest of the OC to review. The final report will be presented to the Board on June 24th.

Don Arnold started a motion to vote on the meeting schedule and Jim Fiedler seconded. The motion was approved unanimously.

OC members discussed topic areas for additional presentations.

Regarding OC member terms, Karen McDowell explained that the West Bay and at-large seats will be open at the end of this year as both members, Nancy Cave and Paul Jones will term out at the end of this year. Staff will hold an open call for seats in the late summer or early fall, with appointments made at the December 16th GB Meeting. Those from San Francisco City & County and San Mateo County would be eligible for both seats, and those from Napa, Sonoma, and Solano Counties would be eligible just for the at-large seat.

12. Adjourn

Paul Jones adjourned the meeting at 5:02 pm.